Armaity Tirandaz wins Bombay Parsi Panchayat seat

1Armaity Tirandaz won the one seat up for trusteeship to the Bombay Parsi Panchayat elections (BPP) held across five polling booths in the city on Saturday.

2Early numbers revealed that Tirandaz won by a margin of 50-60 votes. Overall, there was a low turnout, with BPP chairman Yazdi Desai stating that, around 5,000 people must have come out to vote.

3Armaity Rustom Tirandaz, Arnavaz Jal Mistry who have been BPP trustees earlier, and Eric Nariman Dhatigara, Kersi Gustad Sethna and Ervad Rayomand Burzor Joshi, who have thrown their hat into the ring for the first time, were contesting for the seat.

The BPP put up polling booths at Cusrow Baug Colaba, Khareghat Colony, Hughes Road, Dadar Parsi Colony, Rustom Baug Byculla, and Bharucha Baug in Andheri.

Published on Mid-Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *